Home > Knowledge > Operating System Tips > How to Make Windows 8 or 8.1 Auto Login Direct to the Old-Style Desktop

How to Make Windows 8 or 8.1 Auto Login Direct to the Old-Style Desktop

As you know, logon to the Start screen in place of the old-style desktop has been one of the controversial new features of Windows 8. In consideration of user experience, the latest version, Windows 8.1 has made it far easier to access the desktop. However, it still automatically boots to the Start by default.

So this article is written to share some tricks about how to make Windows 8 or 8.1 auto login direct to the classic desktop.

Situation 1: Windows 8 Situation 2: Windows 8.1


Situation 1: Windows 8

1. Type in "tasks" in the Search box in the right pane and find and click Schedule tasks among the results. (See the following screenshot.)

search tasks

Note: Instead, you can also press "Windows + X" combination keys and then click Computer Management. Next, click Task Scheduler in the left pane.

2. Click Create Task in the right pane. (See the following screenshot.)

click Create tasks

3. Type in a task name, a description and select "Windows 8" in the Configure for drop-down list. (See the following screenshot.)


4. Switch to the Trigger tab by clicking it. As you can see in the following screenshot, you should choose "At log on" in the Begin the task drop-down list box. (See the following screenshot.)


5. Click the Actions tab and then New button. (See the following screenshot.)

actions then new

6. In the Action drop-down list, select Start a program. Next, you should input "C:\Windows\Explorer.exe" in the Program/script box. (See the following screenshot.)

start a program

7. Click OK to apply the changes. (See the following screenshot.)

click ok

8. You can check the actual effect in the Active Tasks pane. (See the following screenshot.)

check the effect

Situation 2: Windows 8.1

In order to compromise with the users who have been accustomed to the classical desktop, Windows 8.1 has made it much easier than before to use the desktop even though it still boots to the Start by default.

You only need 3 steps:

1. Right-click on an area of the task bar.

2. Click Properties (The Taskbar and Navigation properties dialog box appears.) and then switch to the Navigation tab.

select properties

3. Tick the checkbox of "When I sign in or close all apps on a screen…" and then click OK. (See the following screenshot.)

navigation tab

Note: If you want to cancel the task, you can double click it in the Active Tasks pane and then choose to click Delete in the right pane of the new windows. Finally click Yes.